IGNORED

How to learn to create a sound?

geosmina

I'm a noob, so I want to know what are the fundamental things (don't know, like what is an additive synth, sub. synth, harmonics, unison, env, res, cut, timbre, etc, etc...) and how they interact... I have always read that, with the right soft/hardware, ANY sound can be created, or at least emulated... But I don't fcking understand anything... I know how to tweak the presets, but I can't really understand how can I create my own personal sounds... So, basically, how can I understand each aspect of sound design?

Guest Blanket Fort Collapse

You're not even asking as specific question, your asking a small infrequently active forum to basically guide you through the years of time and education it takes to be confident at sound design in general. Experience and knowledge. Experience and knowledge. Experience and knowledge. Neither of these things can be gained with one book or even 2 years at a technical school. Because your experience is more valuable than your knowledge in this regard.

THERE ARE NO SHORTCUTS.... EXCEPT FOR GOOGLE. OH YEAH REMEMBER GOOGLE? YOU CAN SPEND 6.66 HOURS A DAY GOOGLING SHIT AND LEARNING. IT WILL TAKE LOTS TIME BUT GOOGLE CAN BE THE BEST MOST PERSONAL TEACHER YOU CAN HAVE. USE IT!! TRY SHIT!! LEARN MORE! TRY MORE SHIT!! REPEAT

Guest hahathhat

just sit down and start messing with things. it'll start to make sense. well, maybe FM synthesis won't.

you could go take some college classes and learn all the theory if you want, but you still need hands-on experience.

Guest ruiagnelo

you haven't started in your teenage years and as far as i know, you haven't released any "selected ... works" record, so you should really forget about it. there are plenty of other great jobs anyway