IGNORED

MIDI Software and early 2000's ringtones

sheatheman

Even though I am a badass producer, I have never come to know the golden secrets of MIDI files and those really dry MIDI type of songs on sites like this. What software is used to create these? Are we talking about trackers? Because it seems like there is a very specific, limited software that is used to create ringtones and the like.

You can use any software that is capable of saving MIDI files.. I did a lot of stuff for Doom levels using an old version of Cakewalk:

800px-Cakewalk3-display.gif

But I'm sure newer sequencers exist for pure MIDI file creation. The only reason the songs sound limited is because of the super generic General MIDI sound set used by most soundcards.

great info. tell me more about the General MIDI sound set, because it sounds like this is key.

edit. i just exported some midi from reason, but it's doing all the tracks as piano. lol.

Polyphonic Ringtones for mobile phones are based on General MIDI but (at least in the early days when Nokia and Ericsson were pushing it) they were a slightly different format. It was certainly possible to just create a MIDI file that conformed to the General MIDI spec and then transfer it over to the phone and it'd 'just work', but if you worked in the format that was specific to the ringtones at the time, you would be able to address different sound sets.

I can't for the life of me remember the name of the format, and my Google-fu is lacking today.

The short of it is that, as Modey says, you should be able to just use any MIDI sequencing software that is capable of working within the General MIDI spec.