IGNORED

learning math for electronics

Guest Helper ET

Guest Helper ET

i want to build my own synth. ive been slowly introducing myself to electronics, and i understand that there is a point where you need to use complex math

does anyone here have any experience with electronics? what level of math are we are dealing with? i always hated math in school and wasnt very good at it. im willing to learn now though, as the reward would be well worth it. when i was in school, i always told myself i would never need math...oh the irony

anyway, if this is something i can handle, i think ill begin a study regiment, and spend about an hour a day learning electronics and math

cheers

it's not too hard really. i think you'll find that it gets easy when you can actually apply the maths, as opposed to just learning it blindly in school.

i studied electronics for a while but got distracted by general life. thinking of getting back into it!

I'v met a bloke who used to fix and design his own analogues which was always a side earner to the pro electronic he was trained in (having a masters I think). Considering he didn't design the stuff he was fixing he really was very cleaver at following the circuit design path and understanding how it works.

on the on the hand I've heard of some very reputable synth designers that aren't actually that well qualified in dedicated electronics but know how to nick other designs and shove them together kinda like a car mechanic rather than a mechanical engineer kinda way

I'd recommend checking out various synth schematics and having a go at those kit modualr like synthesiser.com

there really isn't that much in a regular analogue circuit board if you want to get into it however inventing you own custom shit may take a little more know how especially when digital control comes into play

it may take a while to become like dave smith

I'm happy with my G2

Guest ezkerraldean

maths

maths

abbreviation of "mathematics" which is a plural