IGNORED

Cryptowen's Sexy Reviewing Thread

I'm not a professional writer guy or music understandarian or anything, but I like giving long winded opinions about music & stuff, so if you want someone to give long winded opinions about your music & stuff and you're sad because no one does, post a link to your album or EP or whatever (I like albums & EPs) & I'll write some reviewing type paragraphs about it eventually (might be a bit because I like to listen to things a few times before I form an opinion).

sorry if this is a bad thread idea

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've got one coming out next month. I'll look up the thread again if you're still interested by then.

^Probably will be. I sometimes go away hitchhiking & junk for a few weeks at a time & don't get on the internet much, so there's a chance of delay, but if someone posts something here I'll try to do an in depth look at it eventually.

Guest Tamas

I'll have a video EP for you to review soon!! :D

That's really nice of you btw I'll definitely reciprocate by listening to one of your's and giving you my thoughts!

Okay, first up futureimage. I figure the best way to do this is to just go track by track, giving my feelings on each, followed by an overall look at the album. So, uh, here goes...

Light Gate - my first thought was that this definitely felt like an album opening track. Actually it also felt like it could be an album closing track. Enough of a dramatic feel for either. Anyway, the harmonies here are all very nice, the buildup fits nicely, and so does the change-up in the last third. I did feel, however, that the melodies became a bit repetitive. The constant addition of layers helps a lot, but the individual lines are all quite short & the main groove doesn't really get shook up too much. I felt myself wanting to hear some more transitions (maybe a few precursors hinting at the big change around 2:00) or one longer melodic line. All in all, though, a good track to start out with.