IGNORED

Did Squarepusher 'build' his LED rig?

markedone

I just saw Squarepusher's Ufabulum show in Berlin (30.9.12). It was great. Being an architecture student, I was also quite impressed with the LED rig. Im wondering if you folk know of any interviews where he mentions if he put it together himself, or the process behind getting it done.

I have read that he developed the visuals alongside the music, so he probably knew the specs and limitations of the rig. But besides the programming, the physical construction of the thing was top notch, with each LED panel fitted into a clean array, all the spacings even. Has he mentioned working with anyone to make it? The scale of the rig makes me think he could design and build it himself. If he did though Im quite impressed with the workmanship (I know a whole team of visual artists/architect types had to design and build Amon Tobin's isam rig)

I met and congratulated Tom after the show but was a bit too starstruck to ask him this question, and remembered only afterwards.

squarepusher-dark-steering.jpg

Guest teetime

I just saw Squarepusher's Ufabulum show in Berlin (30.9.12). It was great. Being an architecture student, I was also quite impressed with the LED rig. Im wondering if you folk know of any interviews where he mentions if he put it together himself, or the process behind getting it done.

I have read that he developed the visuals alongside the music, so he probably knew the specs and limitations of the rig. But besides the programming, the physical construction of the thing was top notch, with each LED panel fitted into a clean array, all the spacings even. Has he mentioned working with anyone to make it? The scale of the rig makes me think he could design and build it himself. If he did though Im quite impressed with the workmanship (I know a whole team of visual artists/architect types had to design and build Amon Tobin's isam rig)