IGNORED

First ambient track, need feedback

Guest drukqs

So, I've always wanted to make ambient music, and I've never gotten around to trying it until today.

I would recommend using headphones for this if possible. I did my best to 'master' it as much as I could, and the atmosphere is a lot deeper when you can hear all that. It's really up to you.

https://soundcloud.com/cassbopeep/road

Just to be clear, this track is entirely mine, it's all recorded in my room, no samples. I just sampled different sounds from this old acoustic guitar that used to be my grandfather's.

I was thinking of adding some other sounds in, but I'm not sure what to add. I feel a bit stuck, not sure where to go from here.

Any kind of feedback, advice, or suggestions would be appreciated.

Why don't you try to find sounds and samples that simply gel well with the sound in the song? Easier said than done, but ambient is usually fairly "landscape-y" if you know what I mean. You have little bells and whistles in the background. Find similar sounds and find where they fit. Heh. That's the only advice I can think of.

Hm, I actually like this. I really like the amount of noise in the recordings, because it gives it lots of atmosphere. Also, I think I can hear a TV in the background in one of the recordings... it kinda adds some kind of subtle rhythm or something, I dunno.

The only thing that I would change is the guitar that starts playing at 1:48. It sounds like you're holding some of the chords back... also, it doesn't really fit the atmosphere.

Instead, I would add a simple high pitched melody played on a guitar or a piano or something... something that stands out from the low freqs in your atmosphere.

I'd say another gentle harmony arpeggio maybe an octave higher gently coming in around 1:35 and maybe make the guitar sound more distant with a bit more reverb or something as it sounds kinda dry next to the soft pad sounds.