IGNORED

What does your workflow look like?

Brisbot

Workflow is something I've been wondering about lately. I'm fairly new to music production in general, so I'm in an experimental stage where I don't quite know where my comfort level on everything is. This is just a general question, but what does your workflow look like when you're working on a track? I use a digital sequencer, so I'll end up creating 15 minutes of music, with bits and pieces everywhere, and then whittle it down and pick out what I like the most and try to frame a track that way.

Friends think this is odd. Though they're the type who're into guitar music and stuff, so they see things as intro, chorus, blah blah.

I imagine though that not everyone works this way. People who use analog stuff... I have no clue how music is put together with those things. I also understand, from my very rudimentary understanding of analog stuff, that you can't save settings on quite a lot of stuff, so that limits your in a way.

Digital or analog, how does your workflow go? It would also be good to mention what kind of music you like to make.

I mostly create sounds. Whatever sound I find cool, I save it. When I'm inspired or high in caffeine, I look through my sample library (or sounds I created) and try to mix them with more sounds and create a cohesive track with those. Though most of the time the tracks I make that way end up being 2 minutes loops. Only when I'm really, really motherfucked inspired (or really, really motherfucked high in caffeine), I create decent tracks.

I usually do ambientish stuff. Because I like atmospheres; I like to create and feel like if I'm inside a dark, creepy forest, or space, or a magic castle, or whatever. But, mostly, trying to decipher how her mind sounds ;)

Guest deferlow