IGNORED

Ableton CPU on Windows 10

Kidrodi

First of all, I'm very new to Windows. I don't know what or where everything is so bear with me pls.

For some reason the CPU bar on Ableton fills up really quickly. I can only use 1 or 2 plugins before the audio starts glitching and stuttering. It's borderline unusable.

I tested it on a Macbook Pro with the exact same specs and it works fine.

I have ASIO4ALL v2 with the sample rate set to 44100 and buffer size on 512

What am I doing wrong here?

What are the exact specs of your PC?

Most likely you are missing a hardware driver or something along the lines of that. Try going to the default soundcard and see if that hogs the CPU as well.

I updated the audio driver but still nothing. 

33a3ozc.png

No, no noticeable spikes. Though this is what it looks like without and with ASIO

29nv7g1.png

This is pretty bad and not normal.

Are you on notebook or desktop?

If on notebook, turn off your wi-fi and try again. By "turn off" I mean temporarily disabling it via Device Manager. Your DPC then should be under 500 all the time (and even less).

really hard to tell from a distance. network thingies could really mess things up regarding latency..so @moment you are using the built-in soundcard?

i use this app to check for latency problems. it's a bit techy..

http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon/

sometimes it's an unrelated service, which causes all those drop-outs.

No, no noticeable spikes. Though this is what it looks like without and with ASIO

29nv7g1.png

This is pretty bad and not normal.

Are you on notebook or desktop?

If on notebook, turn off your wi-fi and try again. By "turn off" I mean temporarily disabling it via Device Manager. Your DPC then should be under 500 all the time (and even less).

Maybe disable antivirus temporarily as well?