IGNORED

Michael Eisen bids to be first fly biologist in the U.S. Senate

cooliofranco

I've always been jealous of other countries' drafting of scientists for political office. As an academic researcher, I've heard SO MUCH WHINING about politics. If you can believe it, even more than what goes on this board! So, I'm really excited by this news.

I know Mike Eisen (not personally, but online, and have close colleagues who know him very well). He's a bit rough around the edges, and has no political experience. But he's brilliant, feisty, and has done great work for the cause of opening science. I encourage all Cali residents to closely follow his campaign, and maybe even get involved if it picks up steam. He is a great twitter read BTW :) 

Geneticist launches bid for US Senate

Q&A: Michael Eisen bids to be first fly biologist in the U.S. Senate

SenatorPhD twitter feed

USA USA USA

sounds good, but scientists tend to be ineffective politicians. often boils down to an inability to understand that being right is not the same as convincing people with different, and often opposing interests. it's the soft skills which matter just as much, or even more. in the end a scientist turned politician is often a wasted mind as he basically has to unlearn being a scientist as soon as he turns politician.

• 4 months later...

sounds good, but scientists tend to be ineffective politicians. often boils down to an inability to understand that being right is not the same as convincing people with different, and often opposing interests. it's the soft skills which matter just as much, or even more. in the end a scientist turned politician is often a wasted mind as he basically has to unlearn being a scientist as soon as he turns politician.