IGNORED

talk to me about dub techno

dr lopez

describe to me what's great about dub techno... I'm deeply interested in it as artistic inspiration for a number of reasons and mediums-- in particular: architecture.

Dub techno to me musically bifurcates and distills two strong architectural forms - repetitive rhythmic structure (the bass and percussion) and atmospheric spacial ornament (often the chords, or accents that are added on top)

and for you?

what does it do?

how does it achieve it?

what's special about it?

what emotions does it enhance?

so on and so forth - share with me your intellectual and formal thoughts on dub techno

:)

I'm relatively new to the genre, having only gotten into it this year. I enjoy the repetitive nature of it first and foremost, how many tracks are driven. Then the subtleties, the gradual shifts and transformations that can feel like they're working 'behind the scenes', it gets me lost/ hypnotized in the chune.

Super into Monolake at the moment, along with Basic Channel, T++, Andy Stott, Gas & Deepchord.

Guest zaphod

i'm pretty into it, but there's so many different forms. there's the super minimal basic channel stuff, monolake, stuff like that. i find that to be sublime in its simplicity. then there's the thick heat of echospace's liumin, which i'm still listening to all the time. that immediately takes me to another place. even without the japanese found sound stuff it will always remind me of tokyo during the summer. a kind of electricity in the air right before the sun sets. repetition and subtle building, little added pieces that gradually become a kind of overwhelming slab of music, something monolithic.

i think all of my interest in dub techno started years ago with a record that probably wouldn't be classified as such: ken ishii's extra. specifically this video

[youtubehd]t6maVVFs0As[/youtubehd]