IGNORED

Speakers

Guest theSun

i've got a pretty big room with semi-vaulted ceilings. the sq ft is about 500-600 and the ceiling is about 15 ft tall at its highest point, with 2 alcoves for the skylights.

i've only had to fill up a small room with my PC speakers, or fill up a bar with a PA. i have no experience messing with sound in these medium-sized rooms. my PC speakers sound awful in this room, and i don't really want to put a PA in my living room.

i'm thinking freestanding will do the trick. don't really want the cheapest speakers, but i can't spend any more than $200-300 on the speakers themselves (i have a receiver). i don't really want to mess with a surround setup, i'm fine with 2 freestandings or a 2.1/

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882269036

thanks watmm, feel free to refer to another thread as this has likely been discussed extensively here.

i've got a pretty big room with semi-vaulted ceilings. the sq ft is about 500-600 and the ceiling is about 15 ft tall at its highest point, with 2 alcoves for the skylights.

i've only had to fill up a small room with my PC speakers, or fill up a bar with a PA. i have no experience messing with sound in these medium-sized rooms. my PC speakers sound awful in this room, and i don't really want to put a PA in my living room.

i'm thinking freestanding will do the trick. don't really want the cheapest speakers, but i can't spend any more than $200-300 on the speakers themselves (i have a receiver). i don't really want to mess with a surround setup, i'm fine with 2 freestandings or a 2.1/

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16882269036

thanks watmm, feel free to refer to another thread as this has likely been discussed extensively here.

I would go for vintage speakers... Old cerwin's or better, old JBL's (1970s...). JBL L100t are great sounding speakers and have the power to fill a large room... And you can get them for a decent price.