IGNORED

The Reaper Thread

I really really love reaper. I feel like it's the daw, I've been missing for the past 9 or 10 years. I started off in Acid, and got really comfortable with it. Could make it do all sorts of cool stuff, but since then I have never really grown into any other DAW. I spent probably a good 7 years trying to get into Logic, but I never could. Read books, watched tuts, and always felt like it was constantly in my way.

Recently Switched to Reaper, and holy fuck. It's so good. Can do ANYTHING, and it's usually easy to find the way to do so. Just makes sense to me. Love it!

Who else here uses Reaper as their primary multi-tracking / composing platform?

I'd love to learn more if there are any ninja types around who might know some good tricks or shortcuts.

love my Reaper - for so many reason, seems to be ran by a great lad/lads, offering such cheap prices for licenses and constant updates etc.

I never really use it to compose - mainly for post-sound Film editing or sound designing

would be sweet if we could keep this thread running as a info/help thread for all Reaper related things.

Guest RadarJammer

I'm pretty comfortable with in. I like having all my F keys mapped to my favorite functions which keeps things simple and easy to remember. next version (4.33) is gonna introduce stretch marker editing on the audio files which is one of the few things most people coming from other DAWs will miss when trying Reaper.

the gui sucks and a lot of shit is weird for no reason, like ctrl+c doesnt do a standard copy, you need to do a special copy that ignores the time selection, or else when you paste it will paste everything within the time selection. a lot of shit is awkward, it reminds me of vi.

Guest Hanratty

I'm interested in what you guys have to say about Reaper. I use Live version 6, and to update Live costs a lot more than Reaper's $60 license.