IGNORED

Talk Talk - Appreciation Thread

fumi

Probably deeply uncool now. 1980s band with new romantic pretensions. I loved them as a kid and still do.

Anyone remember this stunning (for the time) video? It looks tame now but back then, it literally entranced me. Just some nature footage but somehow it worked so well.

Ah, the 80s.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXQYyKzyDaE

Guest bitroast

go into them via Modey. absolutely incredible band and by no means anything that should be considered deeply uncool. :)

Cleanses my soul. A lot of times while listening to Laughing Stock, I stop right after this track. Silence goes perfectly after it.

Guest ansgaria

I adore them and Hollis' solo record, which I find to be one of the most intimate recordings I've ever listened to. Colour of Spring, Spirit of Eden, Laughing Stock and Hollis' solo are definitely the records I've been holding in high regard for many years.

My dad was a synthpophead in the 80s, so when I got to the point where I felt the need to rummage around in his record collection I found the first three records on vinyl and Spirit of Eden on CD and nothing after that. It was quite clear that he just backed off from there, it not being the Talk Talk he had come to love. I have since tried to convince him to give it a chance, but he doesn't find it interesting anymore. Depeche Mode are still regarded as the heroes.

Does anyone happen to know anything about Hollis' release of that short piece that was released with the Boss soundtrack? I remember reading that it might have been an excerpt from a film soundtrack that he and Brian Reitzell worked on before the film was scrapped.

Yeah, that was another absolutely killer song.

I also loved this one - again, Hollis seemed to have a thing about the natural world.

I love this one and "Such a Shame" from their pop period. 80s hidden treasures... Also Laughing Stock is one of my favourite albums ever!