IGNORED

The Wine Thread

J3FF3R00

I don't drink much. I do like a good glass of wine here and there.

I'm a total novice and I'd like to learn more about it. I do know what tastes I like and don't like. For example, I normally don't care for whites. I have a sensitive stomach, so I don't like anything too acidic.

Anyone keen on the subject?

I sound like an old person, don't i?

wine_bottle_face.jpg

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Red wine is wonderful; I've never been hugely impressed by any white wine (it's sort of the equivalent of a weak but refreshing lager on a hot summer day).

I'm going to confess to being a Sirah/Shiraz whore.

I know I like a lot of Pinot Noirs, Zinfandels and Grenaches. I've had a few Cabs that I like. I was curious about taking a wine class just to learn more, but I feel like it would be filled with a bunch of bros that just want to learn big talk to impress chicks. Whatever. I should probably do it.

I do like red wine but as a migraine sufferer I keep my distance as I think it is a trigger.

I am a big fan of Sauvignon Blancs from New Zealand. That's my wine!!

Guest MortstoX

I went to the french riviera some years ago, and they served rosé wine to pretty much anything. Now I save the reds for the winter and drink rosé all summer. With fish, chicken or any light meat, cheese, barbeque or just as a summer drink. It looks gay, but you gotta embrace the gayness. This summers favourite is El Codal Garnacha Merlot Syrah 2010

I've been working in a liqour store the last 5 months and I'm starting to learn the difference between wines but don't really know all yet. I know I prefer red wines over whites. I like a lot of Pinot Noirs and Merlots. I've also tried a few Zinfadels that were pretty good. White wines go great with seafood dishes

It's funny, recently we've been just sticking to the cheap stuff. Nothing too off.