IGNORED

how many of you are unemployed?

Rubin Farr

having been layed off (again) this year, i'm wondering what percentage of us are looking for work. i'm in the US which seems to be having a tough time, but of course Europe has caught the fever as well. are we in a global recession? discuss.

• Replies 99
  • Created
  • Last Reply

having been layed off (again) this year, i'm wondering what percentage of us are looking for work. i'm in the US which seems to be having a tough time, but of course Europe has caught the fever as well. are we in a global recession? discuss.

i was just discussing employment with one of the supervisors where i work (i'm a technician at an electronics manufacturing facility). we're extremely busy right now, and we've got so much dead weight, really worthless people who obviously don't realize how hard a lot of people in the world have it right now. many times each night i want to grab people and yell at/ask them if they don't understand how lucky they are to have a job.

it seems to be a shitty time for many.

Not me, thankfully, but a lot of people close to me are. I have nothing but empathy for anyone struggling to find a job at the moment - it's a shit sandwich here in London and I hear the rest of the country has it even worse. Every day I feel grateful to have a good job... which is why I spend so much time slacking on WATMM.

Guest kokeboka

Things have gotten pretty bad in my country as far as unemployment goes. I'm still finishing my masters degree, but I'll be in trouble if I don't have friends pulling favours for me soon. What is really frustrating a lot of people in Europe is that it feels like it doesn't matter if you've spent years of your life studying and working hard, you're still looking at minimum wage jobs (which is very low, at least here). And politicians generally don't seem to be concerned about people anymore.