IGNORED

geekin out

Guest Helper ET

Guest Helper ET

hey all. so in my recent bout of unemployment, ive concocted the idea to create my own video game, despite that i have no experience in computer programming and almost no visual production experience. so ive been doing some research, and it turns out "blender", open source development software, has a built in game engine, and it supposed to be an excellent video game creation tool, supposedly

so what i am wondering is, am i on the right path video game creation? am i wasting my time with blender? this reminds me of when i used to hop around different audio production software before i found ableton live. i wish i wouldnt have wasted so many years on bullshit software. now dont get me wrong, im not trying to develop the next final fantasy, i basically just want to create a badass ufo invasion game, and im willing to spend a considerable amount of time learning how to do it properly

any help would be awesome. thanks!

i dont have any personal experience, but i had a dormmate way back when that focused on that sort of thing and it took him an a buddy FOREVER to create this very simple atari-ish tank game.

Guest cult fiction

Didn't you create a nearly identical thread a long time ago?

Getting to the point where you can write a game from scratch is a loooong journey.

Both of these engines are excellent and would be a great introduction to game development. UDK is the entire Unreal engine, minus source, which was used to make Gears of War and a load of other games...

Unity 3D

UDK

Consider learning Microsoft Visual C# + XNA Framework.

You would have to read through a minimum of two books first (one on C# and one on XNA), but this is actually one of the quickest ways to make some robust games. Still, it would take a very long time considering you have no programming experience yet.

Guest Helper ET

hey guys