IGNORED

Physical Sales Killed By Digital Sales, Digital Sales Killed By Streaming

Joyrex

According to BGR, more people opted to buy physical media than digital downloads last year: https://bgr.com/2019/03/03/cd-sales-vs-streaming-itunes-report/

It seems digital downloads 15 minutes of fame are up rather quickly in comparison to physical formats as everything goes the way of streaming...

What could possibly dethrone streaming as the dominant way we consume music?

When we master teleportation we'll be able to pay a small fee for the artist to beam themselves to our lounges where they will play our favourites and kiss us sweetly on the forehead.
As a working musician I'd be happy to do this for 35 hours per week and believe it would solve many problems both for the music world and indeed, the entire universe.

Computer generated music to suit whatever you just need at the moment.

holograms of your fav artists playing their hits in your livingroom

Isn't that just another form of streaming?

I wonder how long it will be before the concept of an "album" (e.g., a collection of songs by an artist) will become irrelevant, with listeners preferring to just have that artists' most popular tracks at their fingertips?

If you think about it, the whole album concept was really to bundle together tracks from an artist to sell on a physical medium. Sure, creatively it became a container for a concept or theme in some cases, but for the most part albums merely served to sell you more music at a higher cost than say a single or an EP.

Sorry to be a pedant, but isn't your title incorrect? Shouldn't it read "Digital sales killed by physical sales; physical sales killed by streaming"? 

and streaming killed by pirating?

I'm honestly a bit worried about this. Yeah it probably won't happen for a few decades and we may all be long gone before it happens but it's basically inevitable. Feed the AI your favorite artist and generate 1000s of new favorite artist tracks in minutes.